Discover Chiemsee in winter

Discover Chiemsee in summer

CASTLES AND FORTRESSES

IN THE REGION

Things to know about the region

Herrenchiemsee New Palace

It was King Ludwig II’s dream to bring a Bavarian version of Versailles to Lake Chiemsee. It was to have been King Ludwig’s most magnificent palace.

Nevertheless, even unfinished, Herrenchiemsee Palace delights millions of visitors every year.

The magnificent staircase leads to the state rooms on the upper floor, including the large mirrored gallery. It becomes a concert hall during the Herrenchiemsee Festival.

The magnificent bedroom and dining room with the famous “Tischlein deck dich” are among other highlights of every castle tour.

Herreninsel is probably the only island in the world with two castles. In addition to the castle built by King Ludwig II, there is also the Augustinian canons’ monastery, also known as the “Old Castle”. The king lived there during the construction work.

The Herrenchiemsee Island is probably the only island in the world with two castles. In addition to the castle built by King Ludwig II, there is also the Augustinian canons’ monastery, also known as the “Old Castle”. The king lived there during the construction work.

Herrenchiemsee New Palace

83209 Herrenchiemsee

Hohenaschau Castle

Hohenaschau Castle towers spectacularly at a height of 50 meters. The fortress was once the seat of various important noble families and the center of the Hohenaschau dominion.

The castle was built in the 12th century by Arnold and Konrad von Hirnsberg, who wanted to use the fortress to consolidate their claim to power. Over the centuries, various noble families came into possession of Hohenaschau Castle. Hardly anything of the original castle is still recognizable, as it was continually extended. In the 18th century, the castle was used as a military base and became increasingly less important. It was only when the new owners, the Cramer-Klett family, took over the castle that it was extensively renovated.

Today, the castle is owned by the Federal Republic of Germany and is used as a vacation and recreation home. It is therefore only open to the public to a limited extent. However, some halls and rooms worth seeing can be visited.

The castle is also home to the Priental Museum. Local and cultural history of Aschau and the region are preserved here.

Hohenaschau Castle

Schlossbergstraße

83229 Aschau i. Chiemgau

Tittmoning Castle

Tittmoning Castle is enthroned on a geographically favorable hill. When the town still belonged to Salzburg, the castle was built in 1234 to protect the border with Bavaria. Later, the archbishops of Salzburg used Tittmoning Castle as a summer residence. In 1816, the Rupertigau region, and with it Tittmoning and its castle, finally fell to Bavaria.

23 rooms of the fortress are open to the public nowadays. In those rooms the Rupertiwinkel Heritage House provides information about the history of the region with old tools, handicrafts, furniture, art and archaeological finds. The castle courtyard is regularly used for cultural events.

The Tannery Museum, which was established in 2004 in the former stables on the first floor of the grain store, is also unique. At the center of the modern museum is the workshop equipment of Tittmoning’s last red tannery. Exhibitions, conferences and civil wedding ceremonies are held in the Fürstenstock, which was renovated in 2010.

The outdoor area can be visited at any time. The two museums “Gerbereimuseum” and “Museum Rupertiwinkel” can only be visited as part of a guided tour or during opening hours.

Castle

84529 Tittmoning